• Miscellaneous

Name changes for 2 more towns in the Eastern Cape Name changes for 2 more towns in the Eastern Cape

The South African Department of Sports, Arts and Culture has gazetted new name changes for South Africa. According to Government Gazette Vol. 693 No. 48191 (10 March 2023), former Minister of Sport, Arts and Culture Nathi Mthethwa officially approved the following geographical names, in terms of Section 10 (2) of the South African Geographical Names Council Act (Act No 118 of 1998).

The town of Fort Beaufort, located in the Raymond Mhlaba Local Municipality in the Amathole District Municipality has been renamed to KwaMaqoma, while the town of Sommerset East in the Blue Crane Local Municipality in the Sarah Baartman District Municipality has become KwaNojoli and the village of Brooksnek in the Umzimvubu Local Municipality in the Alfred Nzo District Municipality is now called Ben Mbizweni. The two towns and the village are located in the Eastern Cape.

Source: TravelComments.com Official Blog