• Flights

Nigeria Immigration Introduces New Visa Policies Nigeria Immigration Introduces New Visa Policies

The Nigeria Immigration Service (NIS) has introduced new visa regimes to citizens of United Kingdom, United States, United Arab Emirates (UAE), France and 147 other countries.

The service said that the new regime, which consists of transit, business (single), business (multiple), tourism, visiting (single), visiting (multiple), journalist, cleric, medical tourism, religious, study tour, academic exchange, cultural exchange, humanitarian, emergency, Staff of NGO visas, Temporary Work Permit (TWP) and others attract different visa fees and its based on principle of reciprocity.

The new regime, which commenced on Thursday, October 1, 2020, Mr. Sunday James, the Service Public Relations Officer (PRO) said that it was approved by Ogbeni Ra’uf Aregbesola, the Minister of Interior. According to the new regime, citizens from United Kingdom on transit visa would pay the sum of $84, multiple visa attracts $801, visiting (single); $125, study tour, $250, academic exchange; $250.

For United States citizens, transit visa attracts $160, business (single); $160, medical tourism; $250, while TWP visa now goes for $460.

For citizens of UAE, transit visa is now $15 and $25, tourism visa; $87, visiting 9single); $166, vising (multiple), $425.

For French citizens from France, business visa (single); $71, business (multiple); $177, tourism; $71, visiting (single; $71, visiting (multiple); $117, journalist; $71, cleric; $71, medical tourism; $71, religious; $71, sports; $71, emergency; $71, study tour; $71, academic exchange; $71, cultural exchange; $71, humanitarian exchange, $71, staff of INGO; $71, staff of NGO, $71, while TWP visa attracts $117.

Other countries that attracted different visa regimes included Dominica, Dominica Republic, DR. Congo, Egypt, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, and Belgium.

Others are Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Iraq, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Libya, Mexico, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Seychelles, Slovenia, South Africa, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sweden and many others.

While citizens from West African countries like Gabon, Ghana, Liberia, Benin, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Chad, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Ghana, Gambia, Togo, Liberia, Mali, Senegal, Sierra Leone and others are exempted from paying visa fees, while Mauritius, Sri Lanka citizens are visa free.

James in the statement said that the new visa regime is based on principle of reciprocity and urged stakeholders, concerned authorities and individuals to visit the official website of the service for more information on the new policy. The statement said: “The Comptroller General is inviting stakeholders, concerned authorities and individuals to visit the official website of the Service via www.nigeriaimmigration.gov.ng for full details of the new visa fees for all countries and category of applicants.

“Equally, the service will commence the implementation of the Nigeria Visa Policy 2020 (NVP 2020), launched on the 4th February 2020, by President Muhammadu Buhari. The implementation of the new visa fees and Nigeria Visa Policy 2020 (NVP 2020) commences on 1st October 2020.”

Source: independent.ng